How Do I Get a Skilled Migrant Visa for Australia?

How Do I Get A Skilled Migrant Visa For Australia?

By: Emily Wilson

Australia skilled migration visa program offers a path to permanent residency for skilled individuals and families, addressing the nation's skill shortages. This Australian skilled worker visa program comprises diverse visa options, assessed through a points system based on age, qualifications, work experience, and English proficiency. Depending on your situation, you could qualify for an independent, State/Territory sponsored, or family-sponsored visa. Navigating this process is vital for those aiming to make Australia their new home, and we'll detail the journey below.
Australia Work Visa

Australia Skilled Visa Requirements:

●    Age: 
To be eligible for Australia skilled worker visa, you must be between the ages of 18 and 45. This age bracket ensures that applicants bring their skills and expertise to the country during their productive years.

●    Occupation Selection: 
Choosing the right occupation is pivotal. You must select from two key lists updated by the Australian government:
  • Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL)
  • Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL)
Ensure your chosen occupation aligns with your skills and the needs of the Australian job market.

●    English Language Proficiency: 
A good command of the English language is a fundamental requirement for skilled migration. You need to meet the English language criteria specified by the Australia skilled immigration authorities. This typically involves taking an English language proficiency test, such as IELTS or PTE, and achieving the required scores.

●    Health Assessment: 
Meeting Australia's health requirements is non-negotiable. All applicants and their family members must undergo a health assessment to ensure they do not pose a risk to public health. It's vital to be in good health to gain approval for your visa.

●    Points-Based System: 
Australia employs a points-based system to evaluate your eligibility. Your age, qualifications, work experience, English language proficiency, and other factors determine your points score. You must meet the legislated points score to be considered for skilled migration visa.

Visa Options

There are several visa options available for skilled migrants, each catering to different circumstances and goals:
  • Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189): This visa is for those who do not require sponsorship by a family member, employer, or a state/territory government. It provides immediate permanent residence.
  • Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190): This visa requires nomination by a state or territory government, and it leads to permanent residency. It's suitable for those with skills that are in demand in specific regions of Australia.

Applying for a 189 Visa

Step 1: Assess your eligibility by achieving a minimum score of 65 points.

Step 2: Create an Expression of Interest (EOI) registration.

Step 3: Wait for an invitation to apply (ITA).

Step 4: Complete and submit the required documentation.

Step 5: Plan your journey to Australia.

Application Process for 190 Visa

  1. Initiate the process by lodging an Expression of Interest (EOI) with the Australian Department of Home Affairs using Skill Select.
  2. Following the EOI, file a Registration of Interest (ROI) for state/territory nomination, including the EOI number assigned by Skill Select.
  3. Upon selection, proceed to apply for the nomination.
  4. Upon receiving your nomination application approval, finalize your visa application through the Australian Government's Department of Home Affairs.